Building Inspection

Print

Office Hours

Division office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.
Inspector's office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. and 12:30 p.m. to 1:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.  The office telephone number is 920-832-6411

If you need a permit, please stop in during the Inspector's office hours.

Permit Forms
The Inspection Division is responsible for issuing construction permits such as building, plumbing, electrical, pressure vessel, elevator, heating, ventilating and air conditioning permits. A permit from the Inspection Division is required for private property construction, alteration or repair work in buildings within the City of Appleton

Building Permit
Electrical Permit
HVAC Permit
Plumbing Permit
Sewer Permit
Erosion Permit
Sign Permit

Request an Inspection (Permits Only)
Click here to schedule your inspection online.

Make a Complaint
Click File a complaint to file a complaint

Plan Review
Plumbing Plan Review Application

Commercial Building Plan Review
Plan Review Application

Online Payments and Permits ** NEW **

Other Fees
Reinspection Fee
Basement Repair Permit
Board of Building Inspection
Board of Zoning Appeals
Plumbing Permit (Licensed contractors only)
Siding Permit
Sign Permit
Sewer Permit (Licensed contractors only)
Electrical Permit (Licensed contractors only)
HVAC Permit (Licensed contractors only)

One and Two Family DSPS Application

 

Fences and Walls
Inspectors are available for permits between the hours of 8:00 - 9:30 a.m. and 12:30 - 1:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, or by appointment. Bring a drawing of your lot showing where the fence will be located. A fence permit costs $40.00. There is no setback for fences.

Lot Lines
The City of Appleton does not determine lot line locations for owners that are proposing to erect a fence or other structure. Lot line(s) may be determined by locating the surveying irons or hiring a surveyor.

Accessory Buildings
Accessory Building

Pools
A building and electrical permit is required for all pools that are capable of holding two (2) feet of water. Also, a four (4) foot fence is required to keep the pool secure in accordance with Section 4-549 of the Municipal Code.

Click here to view building permits issued in the last 90 days.

Inspectors

Inspector Category Phone email address
Chris Jensen Building - Residential 832-6416 chris.jensen@appleton.org
Daniel Meissner Building - Commercial 832-6418 daniel.meissner@appleton.org

Electrical - Res. & Comm. 832-5806
Brian Schewe Electrical - Res. & Comm. 832-6415 brian.schewe@appleton.org
Jim Becker Plumbing - Commercial 832-6420 jim.becker@appleton.org
Dale Vande Walle Plumbing - Residential 832-6419 dale.vandewalle@appleton.org
Craig Arnold Heating, Ventilating & A/C 832-6417 craig.arnold@appleton.org
John Peters Erosion Control 832-5879 john.peters@appleton.org

 

Contact: Kurt Craanen - Inspection Supervisor
Phone: (920) 832-6411
Fax: (920) 832-6489
Click here to email
Mailing Address: City of Appleton
100 N. Appleton Street
Appleton, WI 54911
Map
This links to an Internet site not affiliated with the City of Appleton. By providing links to other sites, the City of Appleton does not guarantee, approve or endorse the information or products available at these sites.
Hours: 8:00 am to 4:30 pm
Monday - Friday

Closed on all City Observed Holidays

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer