RESOLUTION #3-R-20

Date: February 19, 2020

Submitted By: Alderperson Meltzer – District 2, Alderperson Firkus – District 3, Alderperson Martin – District 4, Alderperson Van Zeeland – District 5, Alderperson Fenton – District 6, Alderperson Thao – District 7, Alderperson Schultz – District 9, Alderperson Williams – District 10, Alderperson Coenen – District 11, Alderperson Spears – District 12, Alderperson Lobner – District 13, Alderperson Croatt – District 14, Alderperson Otis- District 15

Referred To: Finance Committee

WHEREAS the Wisconsin State Legislature is directed to redistrict legislative districts at its next session following each federal census.

AND WHEREAS the goal of redistricting should be the creation of fair maps, not partisan gain.

AND WHEREAS transparency is necessary in executing any governmental responsibility.

AND WHEREAS on April 3, 2018, Outagamie County held an advisory referendum in which 72% of the voters supported a nonpartisan redistricting process.

AND WHEREAS a January 2019 Marquette University Law School poll showed that 72% of respondents supported having a nonpartisan commission draw the maps.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Appleton Common Council supports a transparent non-partisan redistricting process for the State of Wisconsin.